HomeMusic Transit of Venus

Transit of Venus

Three Days Grace  Composer Three Days Grace  Art Direction Three Days Grace  Main Performer

See full product details
Choose a format:
  • Audio Compact Disc   $5.99
  • Used - Audio Compact Disc   $3.99
  • Audio Compact Disc [Best Buy Exclusive]   $25.05
  • Used - Audio Compact Disc [Best Buy Exclusive]   $13.99

Audio Compact Disc

List Price: $12.98

$5.99 You Save: $6.99

1 Sign of the Times Johnson/Stock/Three 3:11
2 Chalk Outline Stock/Three Days Gr 3:01
3 The High Road Gilmore/Stock/Three 3:13
4 Operate Stock/Three Days Gr 3:22
5 Anonymous Gilmore/Stock/Three 3:13
6 Misery Loves My Company Stock/Three Days Gr 2:42
7 Give in to Me Bottrell/Jackson 3:18
8 Happiness Stock/Three Days Gr 2:53
9 Give Me a Reason Gilmore/Stock/Three 4:03
10 Time That Remains Stock/Three Days Gr 3:12
11 Expectations Stock/Three Days Gr 2:42
12 Broken Glass Gilmore/Stock/Three 3:21
13 Unbreakable Heart Gilmore/Hawkins/Sto 3:26
  • Overview
  • Production Details
  • Editorial Reviews
Transit of Venus

Audio Compact Disc

Label: RCA

Category: Pop/Rock

Transit of Venus

UPC: 887254497424

Release Date: 10/02/2012

Original Release Date: 10/02/2012

Number of Discs: 1

Tracks: [Sign of the Times, Chalk Outline, The High Road, Operate, Anonymous, Misery Loves My Company, Give in to Me, Happiness, Give Me a Reason, Time That Remains, Expectations, Broken Glass, Unbreakable Heart]

Gregory Heaney

Open and more intricate, Transit of Venus, the fourth album from Canadian rockers Three Days Grace, finds them elevating their driving sound into something altogether more refined than anything they've done before. While "nuanced" probably isn't a term that people would normally associate with the hard rock outfit, it feels like an oddly appropriate descriptor for the direction Three Days Grace have taken their sound, setting aside some of the larger-than-life crunch of some of their earlier work to add a level of atmosphere that gives the band the opportunity to stick out from the post-grunge pack. While Transit of Venus certainly has its fair share of fist-pumping anthems, the album is most interesting when the band is finding new inroads to heaviness. Rather than always depending on the guitars' familiar crunch, tracks like "Chalk Outline" and "The High Road" utilize the buzz of droning synths to add a layer of molasses-like thickness to the songs that makes them stand out from the band's guitar-heavy work without feeling so radically different that fans won't know what to make of them. Even when Three Days Grace stick closer to what they've done in the past, a song like album opener "Sign of the Times" shows the band experimenting with atmosphere, scaling back the guitars to let the song breathe a little bit, providing the song with the space necessary to be more, well, spacious. Despite all of this sonic tinkering, the band still manages to insert plenty of those fist-pumping, arena-ready moments into Transit of Venus, providing a familiar landmark to keep fans from getting lost, while also providing the album with enough old-fashioned riffage to show that Three Days Grace haven't given up on rock. ~ Gregory Heaney, Rovi