HomeMusic Songs of Freedom

Songs of Freedom

Bob Marley  Main Performer

See full product details
Choose a format:
  • Audio Compact Disc   $45.51
  • Audio Compact Disc   $90.45
  • Used - Audio Compact Disc   $23.99

Used - Audio Compact Disc


  • This item is not eligible for purchase online for In Store Pickup. It may still be available to purchase at your local store. Check Availability
1 Judge Not Marley 2:26
2 One Cup of Coffee Marley 2:34
3 Simmer Down Marley 2:50
4 I'm Still Waiting Marley 3:06
5 One Love/People Get Ready Marley 3:21
6 Put It On Marley 3:08
7 Bus Dem Shut (Pyaka) Marley 2:47
8 Mellow Mood Marley 3:31
9 Bend Down Low Marley 2:30
10 Hypocrites Marley 2:35
11 Stir It Up Marley 3:12
12 Nice Time Marley 2:45
13 Thank You Lord Marley 3:40
14 Hammer Marley 2:56
15 Caution Marley 2:44
16 Back Out Marley 2:18
17 Soul Shakedown Party Marley 3:05
18 Do It Twice Marley 2:48
19 Soul Rebel Marley 3:18
20 Sun Is Shining Marley 2:11
21 Don't Rock the Boat Marley 4:31
22 Small Axe Marley 3:56
23 Duppy Conqueror Marley 3:39
24 Mr. Brown Marley 3:32
25 Screwface Marley 2:23
26 Lick Samba Marley 2:33
27 Trench Town Rock Marley 3:28
28 Craven Choke Puppy Marley 2:52
29 Guava Jelly Marley 2:17
30 Guava Jelly/This Train/Cornerstone/Comma Comma/Dewdrops/Stir It up/L'M Marley 12:09
31 I'm Hurting Inside Marley 3:28
32 High Tide or Low Tide Marley 4:09
33 Slave Driver Marley 2:51
34 No More Trouble Marley 3:59
35 Concrete Jungle Marley 4:10
36 Get up, Stand Up Marley 3:14
37 Rastaman Chant Marley 3:50
38 Burnin' and Lootin' Marley 4:13
39 Iron Lion Zion Marley 2:55
40 Lively Up Yourself Marley 5:10
41 Natty Dread Marley 3:34
42 I Shot the Sheriff Marley 5:26
43 No Woman, No Cry Ford/Marley 5:22
44 Who the Cap Fit Barrett/Barrett 4:41
45 Jah Live Marley 4:15
46 Crazy Baldhead Marley/Ford 3:10
47 War Barrett/Cole 3:36
48 Johnny Was Marley 3:46
49 Rat Race Marley 2:49
50 Jamming Marley 5:45
51 Waiting In Vain Marley 3:59
52 Exodus Marley 7:25
53 Natural Mystic Marley 3:28
54 Three Little Birds Marley 2:56
55 Running Away Marley 4:14
56 Keep on Movin' Marley 5:44
57 Easy Skanking Marley 2:55
58 ls This Love Marley 4:00
59 Smile Jamaica Marley 3:13
60 Time Will Tell Marley 3:32
61 Africa Unite Marley 2:54
62 Survival Marley 3:52
63 One Drop Marley 3:51
64 One Dub Marley 3:53
65 Zimbabwe Marley 3:47
66 So Much Trouble In the World Marley 3:57
67 Ride Natty Ride Marley 6:22
68 Babylon System Marley 4:18
69 Coming In from the Cold Marley 6:04
70 Real Situation Marley 3:08
71 Bad Card Marley 2:48
72 Could You Be Loved Marley 5:26
73 Forever Loving Jah Marley 3:51
74 Rastaman Live Up! Marley 5:21
75 Give Thanks and Praise Marley 3:14
76 One Love/People Get Ready Marley 7:08
77 Why Should I Marley 3:33
78 Redemption Song [Live] Marley 4:08
  • Overview
  • Production Details
  • Editorial Reviews
Songs of Freedom

Audio Compact Disc

Label: PolyGram

Style: Roots Reggae

Songs of Freedom

UPC: 731451443220

Release Date: 11/16/1999

Original Release Date: 11/16/1999

Number of Discs: 4

Tracks: [Judge Not, One Cup of Coffee, Simmer Down, I'm Still Waiting, One Love/People Get Ready, Put It On, Bus Dem Shut (Pyaka), Mellow Mood, Bend Down Low, Hypocrites, Stir It Up, Nice Time, Thank You Lord, Hammer, Caution, Back Out, Soul Shakedown Party, Do It Twice, Soul Rebel, Sun Is Shining, Don't Rock the Boat, Small Axe, Duppy Conqueror, Mr. Brown, Screwface, Lick Samba, Trench Town Rock, Craven Choke Puppy, Guava Jelly, Guava Jelly/This Train/Cornerstone/Comma Comma/Dewdrops/Stir It up/L'M, I'm Hurting Inside, High Tide or Low Tide, Slave Driver, No More Trouble, Concrete Jungle, Get up, Stand Up, Rastaman Chant, Burnin' and Lootin', Iron Lion Zion, Lively Up Yourself, Natty Dread, I Shot the Sheriff, No Woman, No Cry, Who the Cap Fit, Jah Live, Crazy Baldhead, War, Johnny Was, Rat Race, Jamming, Waiting In Vain, Exodus, Natural Mystic, Three Little Birds, Running Away, Keep on Movin', Easy Skanking, ls This Love, Smile Jamaica, Time Will Tell, Africa Unite, Survival, One Drop, One Dub, Zimbabwe, So Much Trouble In the World, Ride Natty Ride, Babylon System, Coming In from the Cold, Real Situation, Bad Card, Could You Be Loved, Forever Loving Jah, Rastaman Live Up!, Give Thanks and Praise, One Love/People Get Ready, Why Should I, Redemption Song [Live]]

Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Originally released as a limited-edition box set in 1992, Songs of Freedom presents an alternate history of Bob Marley's career, tracing his progression with outtakes, rare singles, alternate mixes, live tracks, and album tracks instead of the songs that formed the bulk of his legacy, as it were. The question is, is this a reasonable track to take? For the most part, yes it is, even if it tends to be a little misleading. That problem isn't too great, since Songs of Freedom isn't targeted at the audience that would want just the basics -- Legend already exists for them, and that sums up everything they need to know about Marley, the ambassador of reggae. The remainder of Marley's audience realizes this box exists just to get rarities to the diehards, and they're thrilled that it exists for that purpose. Because of its nature, Songs of Freedom isn't especially compelling to anyone that isn't a hardcore fan -- although the first disc of ska and rocksteady material will be delightful to anyone that likes early reggae and isn't thrilled by Marley's rock-star posturing in the '70s -- but for those very fans, it's a valuable addition to their collection, since it rounds up rarities with ease and purpose. What Songs of Freedom should not be seen as is a definitive overview of Marley's career -- it's just for collectors and hardcore fans, the kind of listener who has memorized the original studio albums. For those listeners, it's hard to resist Songs of Freedom, but everybody else will be able to safely pass it by. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi