HomeMusic Songs for the End of the World

Songs for the End of the World

Rick Springfield  Guitar Rick Springfield  Composer Rick Springfield  Vocals Rick Springfield  Producer Rick Springfield  Cover Art Concept Rick Springfield  Main Performer

See full product details
Choose a format:
  • Audio Compact Disc   $13.07
  • Used - Audio Compact Disc   $6.99

Audio Compact Disc

List Price: $13.98

$13.07 You Save: $0.91

1 Wide Awake Bissonette/Springfi 3:02
2 Our Ship's Sinking Bissonette/Springfi 3:23
3 I Hate Myself Bissonette/Springfi 2:40
4 You & Me Bissonette/Cohen/Sp 3:52
5 Gabriel Bernhardt/Bissonett 3:57
6 A Sign of Life Bissonette/Springfi 3:13
7 My Last Heartbeat Bissonette/Springfi 3:30
8 Joshua Bissonette/Springfi 2:59
9 Love Screws Me Up Bissonette/Springfi 2:53
10 I Found You Bissonette/Hartry/S 3:16
11 Depravity Bissonette/Springfi 3:34
12 One Way Street Bissonette/Springfi 3:53
  • Overview
  • Production Details
  • Editorial Reviews
Songs for the End of the World

Audio Compact Disc

Label: Hip-O

Category: Pop/Rock

Songs for the End of the World

UPC: 602537132768

Release Date: 10/09/2012

Original Release Date: 10/09/2012

Number of Discs: 1

Tracks: [Wide Awake, Our Ship's Sinking, I Hate Myself, You & Me, Gabriel, A Sign of Life, My Last Heartbeat, Joshua, Love Screws Me Up, I Found You, Depravity, One Way Street]

Stephen Thomas Erlewine

If the title of 2012's Songs for the End of the World sounds like Rick Springfield has a lot on his mind, well, that's because he does. He's purging himself of negativity, admitting "Love Screws Me Up," concerned that "Our Ship's Sinking," and pondering "My Last Heartbeat," scoring all this angst to thundering rhythms and heavy guitars. Sometimes all this aggression is released on rockers with sinewy power pop riffs or arena rockers but those are the exceptions to the rule because here, as it has been on every album he's made since roughly 1982, Springfield isn't about having fun. He is wrestling with big ideas and this time he's scored his mental bout with guitars so bombastic they feel throttling even when only a few acoustics are being strummed. Such sonic overkill fits the oversized emotions of Springfield's songs and even if the overall effect can be a little draining, song by song this is one of Springfield's strongest latter-day records, as the production matches the mood and the melodies are as muscular as the album's sound. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi