Metallica  Main Performer

See full product details
Choose a format:
  • Audio Compact Disc   $8.55
  • Audio Compact Disc   $49.04
  • Audio Compact Disc   $46.86
  • Audio Compact Disc   $15.25
  • Used - Audio Compact Disc   $6.49
  • Used - Audio Compact Disc   $5.60
  • Audio Compact Disc [Bonus Track]   $31.60
  • Long Play Record   $23.97
  • Long Play Record [Deluxe Edition 4 LP]   $29.42
  • Long Play Record [LP]   $27.24

Used - Audio Compact Disc

List Price: $8.99

$5.60 You Save: $3.39

1 Enter Sandman Hammett/Hetfield/Ul 5:29
2 Sad But True Hetfield/Ulrich 5:24
3 Holier Than Thou Hetfield/Ulrich 3:47
4 The Unforgiven Hammett/Hetfield/Ul 6:26
5 Wherever I May Roam Hetfield/Ulrich 6:42
6 Don't Tread on Me Hetfield/Ulrich 3:59
7 Through the Never Hammett/Hetfield/Ul 4:01
8 Nothing Else Matters Hetfield/Ulrich 6:29
9 Of Wolf and Man Hammett/Hetfield/Ul 4:16
10 The God That Failed Hetfield/Ulrich 5:05
11 My Friend of Misery Hetfield/Newsted/Ul 6:47
12 The Struggle Within Hetfield/Ulrich 3:51
  • Overview
  • Production Details
  • Editorial Reviews

Audio Compact Disc

Label: Elektra

Style: Hard Rock


UPC: 075596111324

Release Date: 08/12/1991

Original Release Date: 08/12/1991

Number of Discs: 1

Tracks: [Enter Sandman, Sad But True, Holier Than Thou, The Unforgiven, Wherever I May Roam, Don't Tread on Me, Through the Never, Nothing Else Matters, Of Wolf and Man, The God That Failed, My Friend of Misery, The Struggle Within]

Steve Huey

After the muddled production and ultracomplicated song structures of ...And Justice for All, Metallica decided that they had taken the progressive elements of their music as far as they could and that a simplification and streamlining of their sound was in order. While the assessment made sense from a musical standpoint, it also presented an opportunity to commercialize their music, and Metallica accomplishes both goals. The best songs are more melodic and immediate, the crushing, stripped-down grooves of "Enter Sandman," "Sad but True," and "Wherever I May Roam" sticking to traditional structures and using the same main riffs throughout; the crisp, professional production by Bob Rock adds to their accessibility. "The Unforgiven" and "Nothing Else Matters" avoid the slash-and-burn guitar riffs that had always punctuated the band's ballads; the latter is a full-fledged love song complete with string section, which works much better than might be imagined. The song- and riff-writing slips here and there, a rare occurrence for Metallica, which some longtime fans interpreted as filler next to a batch of singles calculated for commercial success. The objections were often more to the idea that Metallica was doing anything explicitly commercial, but millions more disagreed. In fact, the band's popularity exploded so much that most of their back catalog found mainstream acceptance in its own right, while other progressively inclined speed metal bands copied the move toward simplification. In retrospect, Metallica is a good, but not quite great, album, one whose best moments deservedly captured the heavy metal crown, but whose approach also foreshadowed a creative decline. ~ Steve Huey, Rovi