HomeMusic Live from Madison Square Garden

Live from Madison Square Garden

Eric Clapton  Main Performer

See full product details
Choose a format:
  • Blu-ray [2 DVD]   $27.24
  • Used - Blu-ray [2 DVD]   $18.49
  • DVD [2 DVD]   $21.79
  • Used - DVD [2 DVD]   $10.99

Blu-ray [2 DVD]

List Price: $31.99

$27.24 You Save: $4.75

  • This item is not eligible for purchase online for In Store Pickup. It may still be available to purchase at your local store. Check Availability
1 Had to Cry Today [DVD] Winwood  
2 Them Changes [DVD] Miles  
3 Forever Man [DVD] Williams  
4 Sleeping in the Ground [DVD] Myers  
5 Presence of the Lord [DVD] Clapton  
6 Glad [DVD] Winwood  
7 Well All Right [DVD] Petty/Allison/Mauld  
8 Double Trouble [DVD] Rush  
9 Pearly Queen [DVD] Capaldi/Winwood  
10 Tell the Truth [DVD] Whitlock/Clapton  
11 No Face, No Name, No Number [DVD] Capaldi/Winwood  
12 After Midnight [DVD] Cale  
13 Split Decision [DVD] Winwood/Walsh  
14 Rambling on My Mind [DVD] Johnson  
15 Georgia on My Mind [DVD] Gorrell/Carmichael  
16 Little Wing [DVD] Hendrix  
17 Voodoo Chile [DVD] Hendrix  
18 Can't Find My Way Home [DVD] Winwood  
19 Dear Mr. Fantasy [DVD] Capaldi/Winwood/Woo  
20 Cocaine [DVD] Cale  
21 Rambling on My Mind [DVD] Johnson  
22 Low Down [DVD][*] Cale  
23 Kind Hearted Woman [DVD][*] Johnson  
24 Crossroads [DVD] Johnson  
25 Bonus Material [DVD][*]    
  • Overview
  • Production Details
  • Editorial Reviews
Live from Madison Square Garden

Blu-ray [2 DVD]

Label: Warner Bros.

Style: Modern Electric Blues

Live from Madison Square Garden

UPC: 093624979692

Release Date: 06/02/2009

Original Release Date: 06/02/2009

Number of Discs: 2

Tracks: [Had to Cry Today [DVD], Them Changes [DVD], Forever Man [DVD], Sleeping in the Ground [DVD], Presence of the Lord [DVD], Glad [DVD], Well All Right [DVD], Double Trouble [DVD], Pearly Queen [DVD], Tell the Truth [DVD], No Face, No Name, No Number [DVD], After Midnight [DVD], Split Decision [DVD], Rambling on My Mind [DVD], Georgia on My Mind [DVD], Little Wing [DVD], Voodoo Chile [DVD], Can't Find My Way Home [DVD], Dear Mr. Fantasy [DVD], Cocaine [DVD], Rambling on My Mind [DVD], Low Down [DVD][*], Kind Hearted Woman [DVD][*], Crossroads [DVD], Bonus Material [DVD][*]]

Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Eric Clapton's new millennium has largely been defined by collaborations with friends, beginning with a duet album with B.B. King following through with a Cream reunion and closing with tours with his former Blind Faith running mate, Steve Winwood. Clapton and Winwood did three concerts together at Madison Square Garden in February 2008 and the results were fruitful enough to spawn this double-disc album -- along with its accompanying DVD set -- and a moderately scaled 2009 tour. Live from Madison Square Garden culls 21 highlights from those three nights and spreads them over two discs, sequencing the songs so Traffic numbers alternate with selections from Blind Faith, Derek & the Dominos, blues standards, a handful of Clapton's hits, and a heavy dose of Hendrix, who has no less than three songs here. That extended salute to Jimi is a good indication of the vibe here -- this is a genuine shared co-billing with Clapton and Winwood trading vocals and solos almost equally. There's not much ego here and not much hunger, either, with the two stars sliding into a relaxed groove that yields plenty of rewards. There's a comfortable touch to their playing that's greatly appealing, and the straightforward setting places the spotlight directly on their interplay. Clapton and Winwood might roll easy but they can still create some sparks, sometimes in unexpected places, such as the somewhat forgotten '80s hits "Forever Man" and "Split Decision," both which are highlights here. Ultimately, this isn't an album of moments, but rather a sustained whole that finds Clapton and Winwood egging each other on to produce a wholly satisfying, if not quite surprising, reunion. [A DVD version was also released,] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi