HomeMusic G.O.O.D. Music: Cruel Summer

G.O.O.D. Music: Cruel Summer

Various Artists  Main Performer

See full product details
Choose a format:
  • Audio Compact Disc   $26.15
  • Audio Compact Disc   $13.07
  • Audio Compact Disc   $12.62
  • Used - Audio Compact Disc   $6.11
  • Audio Compact Disc [Clean]   $13.07
  • Audio Compact Disc [Clean]   $13.07
  • Used - Audio Compact Disc [Clean]   $4.95
  • Audio Compact Disc [Clean] [Deluxe Edition]   $13.07
  • Used - Audio Compact Disc [Clean] [Deluxe Edition]   $1.99
  • Long Play Record   $15.25

Audio Compact Disc

List Price: $13.98

$12.62 You Save: $1.36

1 To the World Kelly 3:51
2 Clique   4:53
3 Mercy.1   5:26
4 New God Flow.1 Townsend 5:57
5 The Morning   4:35
6 Cold.1   3:36
7 Higher   4:34
8 Sin City   4:28
9 The One   5:44
10 Creepers   3:14
11 Bliss   3:30
12 Don't Like.1 Townsend 4:43
  • Overview
  • Production Details
  • Editorial Reviews
G.O.O.D. Music: Cruel Summer

Audio Compact Disc

Label: -1

Category: Rap

G.O.O.D. Music: Cruel Summer

UPC: 602537118694

Release Date: 09/18/2012

Original Release Date: 09/18/2012

Number of Discs: 1

Tracks: [To the World, Clique, Mercy.1, New God Flow.1, The Morning, Cold.1, Higher, Sin City, The One, Creepers, Bliss, Don't Like.1]
  • Various Artists  Main Performer 

David Jeffries

Kicking off with R. Kelly doing vocal gymnastics over the most polished and professional of Pop Wansel beats, Cruel Summer is a mistitled fireworks show from Kanye West and his G.O.O.D. Music label/roster/empire, one that comes off as mixtape-minded follow-up to his flossy Jay-Z team-up Watch the Throne. Big difference here is that the arrogance canon isn't aimed at anything particular, as West and company put their middle finger up "To the World," because those shoes are just so damn stylish you don't need a reason to tolerate anyone, anywhere, anytime. When Kanye mentions strolling into the Def Jam office and asking for another fifty million because he woke up on the wrong side of the bed, it isn't a connectable moment in the least, and as "Mercy.1" steals the listener's girlfriend for a hand job in the Lamborghini, it's hard not classify this as baller party for the "We Are the 1%" set, but anyone who can look past the vapid and still dream wetly about Kardashians or Giuseppe Zanotti shoes can latch onto this hypebeast and ride. "Mercy.1"'s ridiculously good hook, plus its thrill-ride construction from producer Lifted, is reason enough to forgive all the bling and its glare, and as new folks like Big Sean, 2 Chainz, and Chief Keef mix with vets like Ghostface Killah, Common, Raekwon, and returning champ Jay-Z, the album has something for every thug all while West supplies the wicked laughs ("Mitt Romney don't pay no taxes," "MDMA party starts melting like Dali," and so on). Detractors have all the ammo they need as Chief Keef's homegrown hit "Don't Like.1" closes the album like a tacked-on bonus track, getting picked up off the streets and taught how to talk like a boss by West, Jadakiss, and friends. Still, it's a killer single both before and after the G.O.O.D. Music treatment, and one that caps off an album that's like the best bottle service you ever had. Anyone who thought Watch the Throne just wasn't Rick Ross-y enough will agree. ~ David Jeffries, Rovi