Dixie Chicks  Main Performer

See full product details
Choose a format:
  • Audio Compact Disc   $3.33
  • Audio Compact Disc   $7.62
  • Used - Audio Compact Disc   $1.29
  • Used - Audio Compact Disc   $1.29

Used - Audio Compact Disc

List Price: $3.99

$1.29 You Save: $2.70

1 Ready to Run Seidel/Hummon 3:52
2 If I Fall You're Going Down with Me Berg/Roboff 3:04
3 Cowboy Take Me Away Seidel/Hummon 4:51
4 Cold Day in July Leigh 5:12
5 Goodbye Earl Linde 4:19
6 Hello Mr. Heartache Hadley/Henderson/He 3:49
7 Don't Waste Your Heart Maines/Robison 2:50
8 Sin Wagon Maines/Robison/Smit 3:41
9 Without You Silver/Maines 3:32
10 Some Days You Gotta Dance Johnson/Morgan 2:30
11 Hole in My Head Lauderdale/Miller 3:22
12 Heartbreak Town Scott 3:47
13 Ain't No Thang But a Chickin' Wang   :06
14 Let Him Fly Griffin 3:08
  • Overview
  • Production Details
  • Editorial Reviews

Audio Compact Disc

Label: Monument Records

Category: Pop/Rock


UPC: 074646967829

Release Date: 08/31/1999

Original Release Date: 08/31/1999

Number of Discs: 1

Tracks: [Ready to Run, If I Fall You're Going Down with Me, Cowboy Take Me Away, Cold Day in July, Goodbye Earl, Hello Mr. Heartache, Don't Waste Your Heart, Sin Wagon, Without You, Some Days You Gotta Dance, Hole in My Head, Heartbreak Town, Ain't No Thang But a Chickin' Wang, Let Him Fly]

Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Wide Open Spaces unveiled the new incarnation of the Dixie Chicks, revealing an eclectic, assured group that was simultaneously rootsy and utterly modern, but if that 1998 de facto debut captured the band just leaving the ground, Fly -- perhaps appropriately, given the title -- finds the group in full flight, in full possession of their talents. This time around, the different sounds they draw upon are more fully integrated, which only makes them more distinctive as a group. Even if the whole of the album feels more of a piece, they still take the time to deliver a slice of pure honky tonk on "Hello Mr. Heartache" and a piece of breakneck bluegrass on the rip-roaring, wickedly clever "Sin Wagon," which is also one of the group originals here, a collaboration between Natalie Maines and Emily Robison and outside writer Stephony Smith. It -- along with the Maines-cowritten "Without You," the Maines/Robison "Don't Waste Your Heart" and Martie Seidel's co-written "Ready to Run" and "Cowboy Take Me Away" -- showcase the trio's increasing craft as writers, which is one of the reasons this album sounds unified. But even the outside-written material feels like the group, whether it's the twangy boogie "Some Days You Gotta Dance," Patty Griffin's "Let Him Fly," the melancholy "Cold Day in July" and, especially "Goodbye Earl" where a wife gets revenge on her abusive husband. Like before, the group moves gracefully between these different styles, with Maines providing a powerful, compelling focus with Robison and Seidel offering sensitive support, and this blend makes Fly a rich, nuanced album that just gets better with repeated listens. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi