HomeMusic Deceiver of the Gods

Deceiver of the Gods

Amon Amarth  Arranger Amon Amarth  Composer Amon Amarth  Main Performer

See full product details
Choose a format:
  • Audio Compact Disc   $8.13
  • Used - Audio Compact Disc   $5.99
  • Audio Compact Disc [Bonus Tracks]   $14.83
  • Used - Audio Compact Disc [Bonus Tracks]   $8.49
  • Audio Compact Disc [Super Deluxe Box]   $147.14
  • Used - Audio Compact Disc [Super Deluxe Box]   $79.99
  • Long Play Record   $16.98

Audio Compact Disc [Bonus Tracks]

List Price: $18.98

$14.83 You Save: $4.15

1 Deceiver of the Gods Amon Amarth  
2 As Loke Falls Amon Amarth  
3 Father of the Wolf Amon Amarth  
4 Shape Shifter Amon Amarth  
5 Under Siege Amon Amarth  
6 Blood Eagle Amon Amarth  
7 We Shall Destroy Amon Amarth  
8 Hel Amon Amarth  
9 Coming of the Tide Amon Amarth  
10 Warriors of the North Amon Amarth  
11 Burning Anvil of Steel Amon Amarth  
12 Satan Rising Amon Amarth  
13 Snake Eyes Amon Amarth  
14 Stand Up to Go Down Amon Amarth  
  • Overview
  • Production Details
  • Editorial Reviews
Deceiver of the Gods

Audio Compact Disc [Bonus Tracks]

Label: Metal Blade

Category: Pop/Rock

Deceiver of the Gods

UPC: 039841520828

Release Date: 06/25/2013

Original Release Date: 06/25/2013

Number of Discs: 2

Tracks: [Deceiver of the Gods, As Loke Falls, Father of the Wolf, Shape Shifter, Under Siege, Blood Eagle, We Shall Destroy, Hel, Coming of the Tide, Warriors of the North, Burning Anvil of Steel, Satan Rising, Snake Eyes, Stand Up to Go Down]

James Christopher Monger

What begins with scorching, melodic twin leads, a mead-induced flurry of double-kick drumming, and the meatiest, most malevolent vocals this side of Valhalla? If you answered "The ninth studio outing from Swedish melodic death metal legends Amon Amarth" then you are correct and can drink from the chalice. Bolder and more bottom heavy than 2011's Surtur Rising, Deceiver of the Gods retains the band's penchant for crafting unyielding blasts of Viking brutality, but tempers each beating with the kind of melodic artistry that can only stem from 15 years spent in the trenches. Those artful melodies imbue much of the album with a toasty patina of NWOBH and power metal, especially on standout cuts like "Father of the Wolf," "Under Siege," the aforementioned opening title cut, and the epic closer "Warriors of the North," all of which sound like deadlier Norse spins on the better cuts from Iron Maiden's Seventh Son of a Seventh Son. It's not all just Manowar sans clean vocals though, as evidenced by the absolutely pulverizing "Blood Eagle" and the propulsive Priest-meets-Venom gallop of "Coming of the Tide," two tracks that announce (with great authority) that Amon Amarth have lost none of the cunning or vivacity that made them such a dominant force in the early days of the new millennium. If anything, Deceiver of the Gods suggests that Amon Amarth may just now be hitting their stride, as it's an undeniably well-honed set, yet the band manage to flex their muscles well outside of the Draconian stylistic confines of the genre by remaining, like a true Viking horde, prickly, primal, and unstable. [The CD was also released with an extra disc containing four bonus tracks.] ~ James Christopher Monger, Rovi