HomeMusic Crossroads Guitar Festival: 2007

Crossroads Guitar Festival: 2007

Eric Clapton  Main Performer

See full product details
Choose a format:
  • DVD   $10.89
  • Used - DVD   $10.48



1 Introduction [DVD] Morrison  
2 Uberesso [DVD] Landreth  
3 Hell At Home [DVD] Landreth  
4 Maharina [DVD] McLaughlin  
5 Rosie [DVD] P.D.  
6 Outside Woman Blues [DVD] Reynolds  
7 Little By Little [DVD] Wells  
8 Anyday [DVD] Clapton/Whitlock  
9 Highway 61 Revisited [DVD] Dylan  
10 Nobodysoul [DVD] Randolph/Markel  
11 Poor Johnny [DVD] Cray  
12 Dirty Work At The Crossroads [DVD] Brown/Robey  
13 Sitting On Top Of The World [DVD] Howlin' Wolf  
14 Paying The Cost To Be The Boss [DVD] King  
15 Rock Me Baby [DVD] King/Josea  
16 Sweet Thing [DVD] Gill/Nicholson  
17 Country Boy [DVD] Colton/Lee/Smith  
18 If It Makes You Happy [DVD] Crow/Trott  
19 Tulsa Time [DVD] Flowers  
20 Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain [DVD] Rose  
21 On The Road Again [DVD] Nelson  
22 Belief [DVD] Mayer/Mayer  
23 Gravity [DVD] Mayer/Mayer  
24 Don't Worry Baby [DVD] Perez/Burnett/Rosas  
25 Mas Y Mas [DVD] Hidalgo/Perez  
26 Cause We've Ended As Lovers [DVD] Wonder  
27 Big Block [DVD] Beck/Hymas/Bozzio  
28 Tell The Truth [DVD] Clapton/Whitlock  
29 Isn't It A Pity [DVD] Harrison  
30 Little Queen Of Spades [DVD] Johnson  
31 Who Do You Love [DVD] McDaniel  
32 Presence Of The Lord [DVD] Clapton  
33 Can't Find My Way Home [DVD] Winwood  
34 Had To Cry Today [DVD] Winwood  
35 Dear Mr Fantasy [DVD] Capaldi/Winwood/Woo  
36 Crossroads [DVD] Guy  
37 Mary Had A Little Lamb [DVD] Guy  
38 Damn Right I've Got The Blues [DVD] Johnson  
  • Overview
  • Production Details
  • Editorial Reviews
Crossroads Guitar Festival: 2007


Category: Blues

Crossroads Guitar Festival: 2007

UPC: 603497987764

Release Date: 11/20/2007

Original Release Date: 11/20/2007

Tracks: [Introduction [DVD], Uberesso [DVD], Hell At Home [DVD], Maharina [DVD], Rosie [DVD], Outside Woman Blues [DVD], Little By Little [DVD], Anyday [DVD], Highway 61 Revisited [DVD], Nobodysoul [DVD], Poor Johnny [DVD], Dirty Work At The Crossroads [DVD], Sitting On Top Of The World [DVD], Paying The Cost To Be The Boss [DVD], Rock Me Baby [DVD], Sweet Thing [DVD], Country Boy [DVD], If It Makes You Happy [DVD], Tulsa Time [DVD], Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain [DVD], On The Road Again [DVD], Belief [DVD], Gravity [DVD], Don't Worry Baby [DVD], Mas Y Mas [DVD], Cause We've Ended As Lovers [DVD], Big Block [DVD], Tell The Truth [DVD], Isn't It A Pity [DVD], Little Queen Of Spades [DVD], Who Do You Love [DVD], Presence Of The Lord [DVD], Can't Find My Way Home [DVD], Had To Cry Today [DVD], Dear Mr Fantasy [DVD], Crossroads [DVD], Mary Had A Little Lamb [DVD], Damn Right I've Got The Blues [DVD]]

Hal Horowitz

Released almost exactly three years after the first, tremendously successful Crossroads DVD, this double-disc documents the 2007 benefit concert for Clapton's Crossroads Center substance abuse facility. "Guitar" is the operative word here, since all the participants are six-string players. As in the last show, the genres include country (Willie Nelson, Vince Gill), gospel (Robert Randolph), Latin rock (Los Lobos), pop (Sheryl Crow, John Mayer), jazz fusion (John McLaughlin, Jeff Beck) and lots of blues (everyone else). Some performers such as Randolph, Mayer, B.B. King, Jimmie Vaughan, Robert Cray, Hubert Sumlin, Buddy Guy, and of course Clapton return from the 2004 lineup. That was a two-day event held in Dallas, TX. This was a one day -- a very long day -- show moved to the home of the blues, a stadium just outside of Chicago, and features a very funny Bill Murray introducing the acts. Based on the sunlight, it seems to be in chronological order, or close to it. Each artist gets one or two tunes cherrypicked from longer sets which keeps the DVD fast paced, even at its four-hour length. Still, it would make sense to release more music on a separate DVD or even CD for those who would like to hear the rest of the material. That is especially the case with Jeff Beck and Robert Randolph, two artists that burn up the stage with abbreviated performances. A highly anticipated reunion with Clapton and his Blind Faith bandmate Steve Winwood results in three songs, "Presence of the Lord," "Can't Find My Way Home," and "Had to Cry Today" from that band's only album. While it sounds fine, there is a noticeable spark and edge missing from the interaction, leaving it somewhat bland and certainly anti-climactic. Derek Trucks burns through Layla's "Anyday," though, and Clapton sounds inspired on "Tell the Truth," another Layla track cranked up with Trucks taking the Duane Allman slide part. Collaborations also bring out the best in some axe slingers, with Vince Gill and Albert Lee's hot-wired "Country Boy," and Jimmie Vaughan fronting the Robert Cray band on a sizzling slow blues "Dirty Work at the Crossroads." A short but sweet 15-minute extra focuses on the smaller side stage with frustratingly brief one-minute excerpts from Tab Benoit, Harvey Mandel, Skunk Baxter, and others' sets. The DTS surround sound is superb, the camera work classy if occasionally too arty, and the top-notch presentation worthy of the high-quality music and artists involved. ~ Hal Horowitz, Rovi