HomeMusic Come Away with Me

Come Away with Me

Norah Jones  Main Performer

See full product details
Choose a format:
  • Audio Compact Disc   $7.02
  • Audio Compact Disc   $10.89
  • Used - Audio Compact Disc   $3.26
  • Used - Audio Compact Disc   $5.49
  • Long Play Record   $43.59
  • Long Play Record   $15.45
  • Used - Long Play Record   $14.99
  • Super Audio CD   $49.04
  • Super Audio CD   $15.25
  • Used - Super Audio CD   $8.49

Used - Audio Compact Disc

List Price: $6.49

$3.26 You Save: $3.23

1 Don't Know Why Harris 3:06
2 Seven Years Alexander 2:25
3 Cold, Cold Heart Williams 3:38
4 Feelin' the Same Way Alexander 2:57
5 Come Away With Me Jones/Harris 3:18
6 Shoot the Moon Harris 3:56
7 Turn Me On Loudermilk 2:34
8 Lonestar Alexander 3:06
9 I've Got to See You Again Harris 4:13
10 Painter Song Alexander/Hopkins 2:42
11 One Flight Down Harris 3:05
12 Nightingale Jones 4:12
13 The Long Day Is Over Harris/Jones 2:44
14 The Nearness of You Washington/Carmicha 3:07
  • Overview
  • Production Details
  • Editorial Reviews
Come Away with Me

Audio Compact Disc

Label: Capitol

Category: Vocal

Come Away with Me

UPC: 724353208820

Release Date: 02/26/2002

Original Release Date: 02/26/2002

Number of Discs: 1

Tracks: [Don't Know Why, Seven Years, Cold, Cold Heart, Feelin' the Same Way, Come Away With Me, Shoot the Moon, Turn Me On, Lonestar, I've Got to See You Again, Painter Song, One Flight Down, Nightingale, The Long Day Is Over, The Nearness of You]

David R. Adler

Norah Jones' debut on Blue Note is a mellow, acoustic pop affair with soul and country overtones, immaculately produced by the great Arif Mardin. (It's pretty much an open secret that the 22-year-old vocalist and pianist is the daughter of Ravi Shankar.) Jones is not quite a jazz singer, but she is joined by some highly regarded jazz talent: guitarists Adam Levy, Adam Rogers, Tony Scherr, Bill Frisell, and Kevin Breit; drummers Brian Blade, Dan Rieser, and Kenny Wollesen; organist Sam Yahel; accordionist Rob Burger; and violinist Jenny Scheinman. Her regular guitarist and bassist, Jesse Harris and Lee Alexander, respectively, play on every track and also serve as the chief songwriters. Both have a gift for melody, simple yet elegant progressions, and evocative lyrics. (Harris made an intriguing guest appearance on Seamus Blake's Stranger Things Have Happened.) Jones, for her part, wrote the title track and the pretty but slightly restless "Nightingale." She also includes convincing readings of Hank Williams' "Cold Cold Heart," J.D. Loudermilk's "Turn Me On," and Hoagy Carmichael's "The Nearness of You." There's a touch of Rickie Lee Jones in Jones' voice, a touch of Bonnie Raitt in the arrangements; her youth and her piano skills could lead one to call her an Alicia Keys for grown-ups. While the mood of this record stagnates after a few songs, it does give a strong indication of Jones' alluring talents. ~ David R. Adler, Rovi