Rascal Flatts  Producer Rascal Flatts  Main Performer

See full product details
Choose a format:
  • Audio Compact Disc   $53.40
  • Audio Compact Disc   $10.99
  • Used - Audio Compact Disc   $5.07
  • Audio Compact Disc [Deluxe Edition]   $13.31
  • Used - Audio Compact Disc [Deluxe Edition]   $5.33

Audio Compact Disc

List Price: $13.98

$10.99 You Save: $2.99

1 Changed LeVox/Mobley/Thrash 4:22
2 Banjo Martin/Mobley/Thras 4:17
3 Hot in Here Davidson/Gorley/Lov 3:53
4 Come Wake Me Up Fransson/Larsson/Lu 4:23
5 She's Leaving Hambridge/Steele 3:17
6 Let It Hurt DeMarcus/Sampson/Sm 3:54
7 Lovin' Me Shapiro/Thrasher/Ye 3:26
8 Hurry Baby Jenkins/Sellers/Sha 3:56
9 Sunrise Chapman/Rooney 5:07
10 Great Big Love DioGuardi/Frederiks 3:24
11 A Little Home Gorley/Lovelace/Thr 4:03
  • Overview
  • Production Details
  • Editorial Reviews

Audio Compact Disc

Label: Big Machine Records

Category: Country


UPC: 843930006175

Release Date: 04/03/2012

Original Release Date: 04/03/2012

Number of Discs: 1

Tracks: [Changed, Banjo, Hot in Here, Come Wake Me Up, She's Leaving, Let It Hurt, Lovin' Me, Hurry Baby, Sunrise, Great Big Love, A Little Home]

Stephen Thomas Erlewine

The change alluded to in the title of Rascal Flatts' Changed refers to the trio's embrace of self-production of its eighth album, but longtime followers and casual observers alike can be forgiven for thinking nothing is different here. Like any of Rascal Flatts' records, Changed is a smooth machine pumping out arena-country anthems and power ballads, interrupted by the occasional silly novelty or platform-jumping crossover. Here, they're not rubbing elbows with the likes of Natasha Bedingfield -- the British diva who didn't help the group break through in the U.K., but their "Easy" did reach the U.S. Adult Contemporary Top 20, which admittedly isn't foreign territory for Rascal Flatts -- and they've toned down the brightness that gave 2010's Nothing Like This some cheer, a subdued shift that's evident even on goofy roof-raising party tunes like "Banjo" (or "Friday" on its expanded Deluxe Edition; regrettably, it is not a Rebecca Black cover). Changed marches to a deliberate beat, the tempos shifting only slightly when things get either insistent or gentle, the group layering its harmonies heavily on both the soft and loud numbers, giving every cut a candied gloss. Taken in one sitting, this can be too sweet, but that's largely due to that unwavering beat and how it makes everything blend together, with the melodies not being quite strong enough to give the slickness definition. Which isn't to say that there aren't songs that announce themselves, in ways both good (the cool assured adult contemporary pulse of "Hot in Here") and bad (the repetition of "She's Leaving" is an instant irritation), but Changed always errs on the side of caution. And perhaps that says a lot about Rascal Flatts: when left to their own devices, they take fewer risks than usual. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi